Adirondack Editing Logo

Friendly, Dependable, and Professional!—Contact Us Today!

Katerina Janik: Czech Book of Records

Susan had the tough task of editing my translation of a Czech Book of Records which we were getting ready for publication in 2014, and I am so grateful for her work. She was meticulous and detailed, making me blush many times by immediately spotting mistakes I went over several times before without seeing them. We were on quite a tight schedule and thanks to her flexibility, professionalism, and a wonderful can-do attitude, we were ready even sooner than we thought. Sorry, Susan, for the belated yet so well-deserved recommendation, I realize, as I did so often when looking over your corrections, that this is a mistake I did that you wouldn't do. :-)

July 4, 2015

Year first hired: 2014


Bill Powell: A Girl Uploaded

While I had a good idea of what an appraisal of my MS might uncover, from some partial critiques (and which I did not share), Susan delivered an analysis that was more detailed than anything I'd seen, was consistent with my expectations, but also identified one or two more areas for work.

The final report was well laid out, so easy to understand, and made it easy for me to see what did (and what did not) need further work, both at the high level and at the individual line level.

After Susan's appraisal I believe my re-worked MS is now in good shape to go before an agent or an editor - and that represents money well spent.

June 26, 2014

Year first hired: 2014; hired more than once


Noel Jones: Hearing the Word of God

Susan has edited my second children's picture book and I am pleased with the way she edited my story. Susan not only corrected grammar, spotted hidden errors and rectified wrong spellings, she also wrote some useful ideas to my story and made it more interesting to read. Susan also wrote a report on my writing level. Her report taught me other ways to write better and tell the reader why people do what they do. I studied Susan's report on writing children's picture books and I am applying them to other books I am currently writing. I highly recommend Susan to edit anyone's writing. So, will I be using Susan's service in the future? Yes, I will. She took excellent care of my work and she will take care of yours.

February 23, 2016

Year first hired: 2016; hired more than once


Jason Gale: Flight

Recently Susan, of Adirondack Editing, helped shape two of my novels from completed drafts to presentable finished products. Her attention to detail is exceptional. Again and again, many minor inconsistencies were noted in the hundreds of pages of text. These are the small things that often catch a writer out and can irritate the reader. Susan communicates in a clear and precise fashion. Not once did I have to contact her for clarification of a suggested change, and that is really something considering I reside in Australia and she is based in the United States!

Susan is a master of grammar and it shows. To have a manuscript adjusted to industry standards gives a sense of confidence.

I fully intend to use Susan's services again for my current, and future, novels.

I strongly recommend Adirondack Editing for anyone with a manuscript they desire to take to the next level.

December 12, 2012

Year first hired: 2012; hired more than once


Ria Wood: The Novel Writer’s Ultimate Guide

Susan worked on editing my book and other projects. She provided punctual results and exceeded my expectations in all areas. Susan is a professional editor with high attention to detail and accuracy. I would recommend Susan to anyone wanting to improve their written work.

May 6, 2013

Year first hired: 2013; hired more than once


Jesse Rebock: Freelance Copyeditor

Susan has become a respectable friend and a trusted mentor. She works at 110% capacity on even the most trivial of requests, and has proven reliable, punctual, and exceedingly helpful. A writer should consider themselves lucky to do business with her, and anyone within her circles should be grateful to know her.

July 10, 2013

Year first hired: 2013


Russell Ferrell: The Bone War of McCurtain County

Susan Uttendorfsky was the primary editor for my book "The Bone War of McCurtain County" and I was very pleased with her service. Susan is a very diligent, meticulous, and thorough copy editor. She is a first-class grammarian who always got the edits back to me in a prompt and timely manner. I feel lucky to have found an editor of her caliber, whose rates are also very reasonable. She exceeded my expectations. The working experience with Susan was very easy and pleasant. I highly recommend her.

January 2, 2013

Year first hired: 2012


Nancy DeMarco: Finding Sara

Susan served as reviewer for my debut novel, Finding Sara. She’s very easy to work with, and she provided a quick turnaround and a wonderfully thoughtful and insightful review. I highly recommend her.

September 1, 2012

Year first hired: 2012


Rebecca Greene: Sisters in the Name of Love

I had Susan review my manuscript. She was very thorough as well as quick and efficient. I would absolutely recommend her and certainly use her services again.

June 27, 2012

Hired in 2012; hired more than once


Regina N.: A Jar of Broken Hearts

It's a pleasure to recommend Susan Uttendorfsky of Adirondack Editing. Susan offered detailed professional developmental editing services for my adult fiction story, A Jar of Broken Hearts.

Not only did she show great mastery of the editing process, she also provided a lot of positive critiquing. "In my project, her advice has been invaluable in terms of character development, editing, chapter development, formatting, ensuring consistent flow in the writing, and spell checking.

Susan is a very diligent, meticulous, and thorough copy editor. She also takes the time to suggest multitude of other resources (books, articles and discussion forums) for writers to enhance their skills and understanding of the writing world. I'm looking [forward] to working with Susan on future projects.

June 3, 2013

Year first hired: 2012

Refresh to See More

View Our Project List!


Based in the United States.


adirondackediting@gmail.com

Protected by Copyscape

© 2013-2017 All Rights Reserved